Talking Shop with Sandra Tierney of Puddles N Rain Bows

puddles n rain bows

sandra

Can you introduce yourself to my readers?
My name is Sandra and I am a mother of two living in Austin, TX. I grew up in a creative home assisting my mother with all of her arts and crafts. Not only was my mother creative but she had an amazing sense of style. My wardrobe is made up of all of her amazing Vintage pieces. I’m a lucky girl!
My favorite truck is my 1974 Vintage Bronco and I hope to start incorporating some of her vintage ribbons into my new rain boot line.

How did you come to make/sell the items you have in your shop?
My idea for Puddles N Rain Bows came about when I was wanting a unique pair of rain boots for a festival, here in Austin. Austin is known for its festivals and live music. One year it rained all weekend and every shop sold out of boots. That’s when I created my first pair adding the bows so I would stand out in the sea of rain boots 🙂

How long have you been selling on Etsy?
I have been selling on Etsy for about 4 years. I started with my shop Rescue Vintage and now have my Puddles N Rain Bows
that I started this year.

Is Etsy your sole source of income?
When I am not running my Etsy shops I am a Creative Assistant for Vintage Ware by EMD. We create leather cuffs from unique vintage items found all over the world. All the pieces are hand made here in Austin, TX.
cuffs

Do you use social media to enhance your success on Etsy and if so, how?
I have used FB ads to promote my shop as well as well as pinterest and advertising through Etsy.

What has been your biggest Etsy success and your biggest Etsy fail?
My biggest success on Etsy has been receiving messages from my buyers telling me how much they love their purchases and being featured in several Treasuries.

What is a typical day like working for yourself in this field? Do you own your own equipment for this sort of work? Do you have a studio?
My typical day includes finding time to create once the kids are fed and taken to school. All my work is done in my small office at home.

What have you learned about photography as an Etsy seller?
It is very important to get a good photo of your items so the customer can see the true colors. Another reason you want a clear photo is so people are drawn to the item for treasuries.

What is your education or background?
I majored in Art & Graphic Design.

Coolest place you’ve traveled for your work?
I have traveled all over the Country but for work my favorite was NY on a buying trip.

Favorite artist/artists or artists who have influenced your work?
My favorite artist is Jerry Cabrera, a local TX artist Jerry Cabrera his work is beautiful and the colors are so vibrant.

Painting by Jerry Cabrera


Dreams for the future?
One day when the kids are older I hope to start my own business.

….I think she already has! I don’t know about y’all, but I just think these boots are so cute, the perfect way to take something practical and add a mega-dose of style.
Thanks Sandra!
XOXO

Leave a comment